Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » How can I populate a field with the current user (Forms Builder 10g)
How can I populate a field with the current user (Forms Builder 10g) [message #87245] Wed, 15 December 2004 09:02 Go to next message
MichaelChang
Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to Oracle.  I'm using the Oracle Forms Builder and I'm trying to set the "Initial Value" (in the Property Palette) for the "User" (text) field to autopopulate the currently logged in user.

For my "Date Created" field I used $$DATE$$ and it works great but $$USER$$ and $$SYSUSER$$ don't work.

Any ideas?

TIA,

-MC
Re: How can I populate a field with the current user (Forms Builder 10g) [message #87246 is a reply to message #87245] Wed, 15 December 2004 10:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Just John
the $$constent$$ doesn't hold many options, its good for dates and static values but not much else (in my view)

create a trigger, i.e. WHEN_NEW_ITEM_INSTANCE trigger

:block.item := USER;
Re: How can I populate a field with the current user (Forms Builder 10g) [message #87249 is a reply to message #87246] Wed, 15 December 2004 11:04 Go to previous messageGo to next message
MichaelChang
Hey, thanks for the response but that didn't work :-(

"I get the error 'bad bind variable 'block.item'"

I tried this trigger in the form itself as well as in the item, same error,

any ideas?

Thanks,

-MC
Re: How can I populate a field with the current user (Forms Builder 10g) [message #87250 is a reply to message #87249] Wed, 15 December 2004 12:54 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Just John
replace :block.item for the actual block and item name

e.g.

:emp.ename for block 'emp' data item 'ename'
Re: How can I populate a field with the current user (Forms Builder 10g) [message #87251 is a reply to message #87249] Wed, 15 December 2004 12:57 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Just John
If the when_new_item_instance trigger doesn't work as expected also try WHEN_NEW_RECORD_INSTANCE